RSS

Soap Allergies

24 Feb

Over the last few years, I have noticed that in becoming more and more sensitive to various types of soap. It has gotten to the point that I have only one type of hand soap that really seems to agree with my hands. I’m currently using soft soap with aloe Vera. If I use any other type of liquid soap my hands break out in little red dots and start getting very dry. They also itch quite a bit. I even have similar problems with bar soap and shampoos. Those mostly cause dry skin and red marks. Some Brands are worse than others.

I don’t really think that anything has changed in my skin. I am convinced that the companies that make soap are constantly changing their ingredients to maximize their profits. Of course there are 20 different things in the list of ingredients. That’s difficult to tell which ones are fragrances and which ones actually make up the soap.
I stopped using herbal essence and tried Fructis. It seems to agree with my skin better although I have not been using it that long.

Even laundry detergent can be a problem. I noticed that if I were brand new clothes without washing them, they feel great. After I wash them, sometimes they feel as if they have soap residue still in them from the laundry. I do have hard water. I know that makes it more difficult washout the soap. Sometimes I add a 1/4 cup of white vinegar to the laundry. That does seem to help soften the water and remove more of the soap. I never had this problem with the laundry detergent until after they started making them concentrated.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 24, 2013 in Health

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Soap Allergies

  1. Amanda

    February 25, 2013 at 3:42 pm

    I have this problem, too!

     
  2. Ginger-Vee Carter

    February 25, 2013 at 7:56 pm

    maybe you can look into making your own natural soaps/washes….might help..
    I’ve had a lot of itching random times of the day and said that’s it im making my own soap lol

     
    • Maximum_Mike

      February 25, 2013 at 9:13 pm

      I may have to do that too if they don’t stop making these soaps so irritating.

       
      • Ginger-Vee Carter

        February 26, 2013 at 10:58 am

        I’ve started making detergent, sulfate-free melt and pour soaps and my skin has been loving it. there are many brands of it (with different ingredients) so its about searching around.

         

Leave a Reply

 
